september, 2020

19sep5:00 pmSeattle Symphony - Opening Night Gala - Adams, Tchaikovsky, Janáček5:00 pm Benaroya Hall


Event Details

Seattle Symphony; Thomas Dausgaard, conductor

John Adams: I Still Dance
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1
Leoš Janáček: Sinfonietta

Seattle Symphony Notes:
Music Director Thomas Dausgaard opens the 2020–2021 season with an all-time favorite: Tchaikovsky’s grand First Piano Concerto. This hugely popular masterpiece delights with dizzying pyrotechnics and arching melodies — and with Artist in Residence Khatia Buniatishvili at the keyboard, weʼre guaranteed “playing straight from the heart” (The Guardian). This piece sits perfectly alongside a new work by one of our nations greatest living composers: John Adams’ multiculturally-inspired I Still Dance.

NEW! Toast the new season at Benaroya Hall following the concert with bubbly, bites and a dance party in the Grand Lobby with musicians. Tickets from $100 are available with your subscription order.

CHEERS! Join us for the Opening Night Gala — an exclusive, black-tie evening complete with cocktails, dinner and dancing. Call the Special Events department at 206.215.4728 to reserve your Gala package.




Benaroya Hall

200 University St