Swedish Chamber Orchestra
Thomas Dausgaard, conductor
August 2012


The Swedish Chamber Orchestra and Thomas Dausgaard here perform two works by Pyotr Tchaikovsky as part of their “Opening Doors” series.

The series presents large-scale Romantic symphonic works with the clarity that a chamber orchestra can offer.

The works here come from either end of Tchaikovsky’s career and are linked by the tragedy apparent in their endings.


Pyotr Il’yich Tchaikovsky

Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74 ‘Pathétique’

1. I. Adagio – Allegro non troppo 17:11
2. II. Allegro con grazia 7:43
3. III. Allegro molto vivace 8:38
4. IV. Adagio lamentoso 9:32

5. Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture 19:16


“The virtues are self-evident: Dausgaard elicits some impressively accomplished and consistently bright-eyed playing, textures are sifted with watchful care…and his readings are abundantly musical, free of eccentricity and eschew any spurious expressive posturing…their innate good taste and sense of classical equilibrium never allowing the listener to forget for one moment Tchaikovsky’s veneration of Mozart.” – Gramophone Magazine

Listen on Spotify