Bruckner: Symphony No. 4

Performing with: Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra

After acclaimed recordings of the Third (‘Dausgaard… makes the music sound vital and even revolutionary’, Fanfare) and Sixth (‘This persuasively played work could be no better served’, MusicWeb International), Thomas Dausgaard and the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra now present Anton Bruckner’s Fourth Symphony, ‘Romantic’ in its second version (1878-1880), the one with which this work has become widely known.
“Nothing like this has been written since Beethoven” conductor Hans Richter is said to have declared after the successful premiere of Bruckner’s Fourth Symphony in Vienna in 1881. This success finally gave the 56-year-old composer the attention and recognition he sorely needed and one can affirm that it was from this day onwards that Bruckner was actually cultivated in Vienna after years of public humiliation. Despite its nickname given by the composer himself, this symphony in no way expresses existential pain. Rather, the romanticism refers to the experience of nature – from sublime forest magic to hunting scenes – emphasized by the horn, the quintessential romantic instrument, which is given a prominent role.
Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 in Eb Major Romantic
1878/1880 Version
I. Bewegt, nicht zu schnell
II. Andante quasi Allegrettto
III. Scherzo
IV. Finale