Beethoven – Complete Orchestral Works Volume 3

Performing with: Boris Berezovsky (piano); Swedish Chamber Orchestra Örebro

An attractive issue marked by an immaculate pianism, nimble conducting and refined sound.



Boris Berezovsky in Beethoven for the first time

Volume 3 in the series with the complete orchestral works of Ludwig van Beethoven is ready from the Swedish Chamber Orchestra and its music director since 1997, Thomas Dausgaard. The piano concertos are true gems of the classical canon, as Beethoven was an expert both in the art of writing for the orchestra and himself a master pianist.

It is then in the nature of things that these concertos are forged in such a fashion as to display both compositional mastery and to exhibit what kind of magic a true wizard can do at the piano. Russian pianist Boris Beresovsky (b.1969) is such a wizard. At the age of 21 he won the Gold Medal at the 1990 International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow.



Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 1 In C Major, Op. 15.
1. Allegro Con Brio
2. Largo
3. Rondo. Allegro

Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 2 In B Flat Major, Op. 19.
4. Allegro Con Brio
5. Adagio
6. Rondo – Molto allegro

7. Beethoven: Rondo for Piano & Orchestra in B flat major, WoO 6