Danish National Symphony Orchestra
Thomas Dausgaard, conductor
October 1996


Hartmann: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2

About the Album – DACAPO

With an extensive oeuvre covering all genres of the period in both vocal and instrumental music, J.P.E. Hartmann remained active as a composer throughput his long life and was a central figure in Danish Romanticism. There was something distinctive Danish about his music, and it was also in constant development, from late Vienna Classicism to the beginnings of Modernism.


J.P.E. Hartmann

Symphony no. 1 in G minor op. 17 (1836)
1. I. Introduction: Moderato – Allegro assai, con passione 10:04
2. II. Andante 5:36
3. III. Menuetto 5:50
4. IV. Finale: Allegro molto assai 9:54

Symphony no. 2 in E major op. 48 (1848)
5. I. Prelude: Moderato sostenuto – Allegro non troppo grazioso 14:44
6. II. Andantino 5:44
7. III. Intermezzo: Allegro pastorale, non vivace 6:08
8. IV. Finale: Allegro vivace 11:11


“Outstanding.” – BBC Music Magazine *****

“This welcome introduction to Danish Romanticism shows Hartmann’s music to be attractive and accesible and well worth exploring.” – The Times (London)