february, 2021

11feb7:30 pmSeattle Symphony - Nielsen, Chapela, Stravinsky7:30 pm Benaroya Hall


Event Details

Pekka Kuusisto, violin
Seattle Symphony; Thomas Dausgaard, conductor

Carl Nielsen: Symphony No. 6, “Sinfonia semplice”
Enrico Chapela: Violin Concerto (Seattle Symphony Co-commission & U.S. Premiere)
Igor Stravinsky: The Firebird Suite

Seattle Symphony Note:
Stravinsky’s evocative Firebird Suite is as thrilling as it gets, from the heart-thumping Infernal Dance to its glorious, glittering finale. It’s no wonder this beloved, colorful score vaulted Stravinsky into stardom. Plus, as part of the critically acclaimed cycle of live recordings on Seattle Symphony Media, Music Director Thomas Dausgaard continues his exploration into the music of his fellow Dane Carl Nielsen, this time with the composer’s quirky Sixth Symphony. Also on the program is the U.S. premiere of Enrico Chapela’s Violin Concerto.




Benaroya Hall

200 University St