Swedish Chamber Orchestra
Thomas Dausgaard, conductor
August 2000


Beethoven: Complete Orchestral Works Vol. 2

The first release, symphonies 1&2 + Ritterballet, was hailed as  a sensation. This is not something to be taken for granted when presenting the very core of repertoire from western art music. But the intentions with this series have been very clear: both orchestra and conductor want to bring something fresh into the tradition, building on the Bärenreiter Urtext Edition by Jonathan del Mar. This is the first new edition of Beethoven”s symphonies for 130 years and represents the result of many years” research, to give us the music exactly at written by Beethoven.

The fourth symphony, finished in 1806, is among the more classical symphonies by Beethoven. The Coriolan overture was inspired by the play by Heinrich Collins on the roman tragic hero Gaius Marcius Coriolanus. In his fifth symphony Beethoven creates what is to become the very icon of the classical tradition.



Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 60
1. Adagio – Allegro vivace 11:04
2. Adagio 8:44
3. Allegro vivace 5:29
4. Allegro ma non troppo 6:28
5. Coriolan Overture, Op. 62 7:25

Symphony No. 5 in C minor (“Fate”), Op. 67
6. Allegro con brio 6:43
7. Andante con moto 8:47
8. Allegro 4:39
9. Allegro 11:07